How to file a divorce in Kenosha, Wisconsin?
The set of laws regarding divorce and filing it varies from state to state. In Kenosha, Wisconsin, there are eight steps that you have to follow to file a divorce. If you are having difficulties understanding the steps, call a Kenosha divorce lawyer. But on the other hand, talking to a lawyer without the minimum information might lead the lawyer to think you are ignorant. So this article will give you a simple idea about the steps involved so you can have an initial understanding.
Different forms deal with different issues in the marriage. If you have a child, are you filing the case alone, are you filing it jointly, will you need temporary protections during the proceeding, etc. Summons, confidential addendums, and petitions are the common forms to be filled out.
Completing the file before submitting it is very important. If you fail to complete the form, your appeal will be dismissed. Make sure you go through from, fill in all details, and collect all the necessary documentation.
As a Kenosha resident, you need to submit the form to the local clerk’s court.
If you are filing the case alone, you must also serve your spouse. After serving your spouse, you will also need to get the proof of service.
The waiting period after you file the divorce case or serve your spouse is 120days. On the other hand, if you were served with the divorce petition, the waiting period is 20 days.
After all the formalities are done, you will be facing a temporary hearing. The court will make temporary arrangements for you until the settlement of your divorce. Once your divorce is settled and you are happy with the clauses of the temporary settlement, you can go on with your life. But, if you are unhappy, you have a ten-day timeframe to make further appeals.
You need to prepare yourself and your spouse for the pre-trial conference. These conferences are aimed at resolving the conflict between you and your spouse. But if they don’t help, then you may proceed with further actions.
Once all the steps mentioned earlier are completed, you can either get stipulated, default, or trial divorce. Stipulated means both parties agree. Default means if one of the parties is absent during the hearing, then the couple will be divorced. Trial means that if the couple can not settle on a mutual agreement, then the case will proceed to further hearing.